Guy LAURENT, Professor of Hematology

« Given the tremendous potential of the Oncopole, everyone is a key player and serves a vital role! »

As a physician, what is your assessment of the medical component of the Oncopole?
The Oncopole will provide Toulouse with a university hospital, unique in France with its scientific and industrial environment, and this will greatly enhance our visibility in oncology. It is a large 300-bed hospital entirely dedicated to cancer research with all the necessary platforms to develop a modern oncology unit (diagnosis, imaging, radiotherapy, etc.) as well as a health organization centered around the patient (treatment, assessment, detection and management of side effects, etc.).

You were one of the architects of the Captor project that allowed Toulouse to be the award winner of a national level competition; was the Oncopole a crucial element in this?
Yes. This collective success is emblematic of the added value created by this network between researchers, physicians and companies. Our project was centered on the drug and based on what is known as the “patient to patient” approach: through tumor samples, we identify a target to treat and then a molecule and then finally a drug to cure the patient. The originality and legitimacy of our bid therefore was also based on our close ties with industrial partners; it must be borne in mind that the inventiveness of researchers and biotechnology companies, needs major pharmaceutical companies to face development constraints. Everyone is a key player and serves a vital role.

What are some of the impacts of the actions led by the Toulouse Cancer Health Foundation?
The Foundation finances discovery research work; it also helps to finance horizontal projects, for example CAPTOR which it had initiated. Given the tremendous potential of the Oncopole in clinical research as well as early assessment, the Foundation provides us with the necessary financial resources for this task and therefore plays a key role in the overall system.

Guy LAURENT, Professeur d’hématologie

« Compte tenu du formidable potentiel de l’Oncopole, tout le monde a besoin de tout le monde ! »

En qualité de médecin, quelle est votre appréciation du volet médical de l’Oncopole ?
Avec l’Oncopole, Toulouse va disposer d’un centre hospitalier universitaire unique en France par l’environnement scientifique et industriel, et cela va grandement renforcer notre visibilité en cancérologie. C’est un grand hôpital de 300 lits entièrement dédié au cancer avec toutes les plateformes nécessaires pour développer une cancérologie moderne (diagnostic, imagerie, radiothérapie, etc) ainsi qu’une organisation sanitaire centrée autour du malade (parcours de soin, évaluation, détection et gestion des effets secondaires, etc).

Vous avez été l’un des artisans du projet CAPTOR qui a permis à Toulouse d’être lauréat d’une compétition au plan national ; l’Oncopole en a été un élément déterminant ?
Oui. Ce succès remporté collectivement est emblématique de la valeur ajoutée que crée ce maillage entre chercheurs, médecins et entreprises. Notre projet était un projet centré sur le médicament et basé sur l’approche dite « du malade au malade » : à partir d’échantillons de tumeur, on identifie une cible à traiter puis une molécule et enfin on développe un médicament pour guérir le malade. L’originalité et la légitimité de notre candidature reposaient donc aussi sur la proximité avec des industriels ; il faut en effet garder à l’esprit que l’inventivité des chercheurs ou des sociétés de biotechnologies, a besoin des grands laboratoires pharmaceutiques pour s’intégrer aux contraintes du développement. Tout le monde a besoin de tout le monde.

Quels impacts ont les actions de la Fondation Toulouse Cancer Santé ?
La Fondation finance des travaux de recherche d’amont ; elle contribue également à financer des projets transversaux comme cela a été le cas pour CAPTOR dont elle a été à l’initiative. Compte tenu du formidable potentiel de l’Oncopole en recherche clinique y comprise l’évaluation précoce, la Fondation nous apporte les moyens financiers nécessaires à cette ambition et joue donc un rôle clé dans ce dispositif d’ensemble